Changes to border crossing of the European Union 

From 2023, those entering the EU from third countries for a short stay will register in the EES system. Traditional border controls involving obtaining an entry stamp in the passport will step down in favour of electronic controls. As expected by the European Union, the changes are intended to centralise the management of immigration, one element of which is precisely the new entry/exit system (EES: Entry/Exit system).

The digitalisation of the border process through the implementation of the EES implies registration in the system before the intended crossing of the EU border for a short stay. In this way, the services will have information about a specific person before he or she arrives at the border crossing point. The EES is to apply at land, sea and air borders. The changes will include both citizens of countries who need a visa to cross the EU border and those who are exempt (including US citizens). Croatia, Cyprus and Ireland have decided to continue to use the traditional way of stamping passports.

Permanent residents will not be covered by the system. Full implementation of the system is expected in early May 2023.